The Finnish State Art Commission is appointed by the Ministry of Education and Culture. It is charged with acquiring works of art for Government properties and buildings in Government use and to attend to the management of the State Art Deposit Collection. The State Art Commission is part of the Finnish National Gallery. Works are commissioned directly from artists and acquired through competitions and purchases. Acquisition decisions are made by a committee consisting of a chair, a vice chair and six members. Six of the members represent different disciplines of art, while one represents the Finnish National Gallery and one Senate Properties. The Finnish National Gallery is also in charge of the commission’s secretarial work. The term of office of the commission’s members is three years.

Composition of the State Art Commission 2023–2025

Collections Management Director Riitta Ojanperä, Chairperson, Finnish National Gallery 

Account Manager, Architect, Jari Auer, Senate Properties 

Visual Artist Pirjetta Brander 

Photographer, Video Artist and Film-Maker Marja Helander 

Visual Artist Heli Hiltunen 

Graphic Artist Ari Pelkonen, Vice Chair 

Designer, Design Chief Kirsti Saarikorpi 

Arts Advisor, Architect Mika Savela, Arts Promotion Centre Finland 

Image: Kansallisgalleria / Marjo Sarjanen

Finnish State Art Commission Personnel

Eija Aarnio, Senior Producer
tel. 0400 271 477

Heli Ahmio, Curator
tel. 040 674 3563

Marjo Sarjanen, Art Coordinator
tel. 040 832 5480

You can contact us by e-mail firstname.lastname(at)